….On Benazir Bhutto

2 01 2008

It’s been over a week since Benazir Bhutto was assassinated, and in that time we’ve seen a nuclear power continue its downward spiral, although in all fairness political instability isn’t anything new to Pakistan. What’s special about this situation is that the potential power vacuum includes the Taliban and Al Qaida, and now Pakistan has weapons of mass destruction. The only hope for Pakistan (and India for that matter) is that the untrustworthy Musharaff (don’t be suprised if it turns out that he’s responsible), Nawaz Sharif, and Asif Ali Zardari.

I am not going to say how sad it was for Bhutto to die in such a barbaric manner. It has been said too much,  and hopefully by the end of this I would have conveyed that notion. The assasination of Bhutto shows several things about democracy, as well as about Pakistan.

My friends,

Thank you all for the messages of support you’ve sent to me over the past week. I’m sorry I don’t have the time to respond to every single one but I have read them all and am overcome with emotion when reading about the grief you all feel. You are all truly my brothers and sisters and I value your support immensely. This is a time of global mourning, and I feel honoured that my mother’s memory and message is cherished so dearly by such an incomprehensible number of people. Let us not forget all those others who have died alongside her, protecting her and supporting her and remaining with her despite the danger they knew they were in. The streets of heaven are too crowded with angels tonight.

And so, people have questioned why I want to partake in a future that will put my life, and the lives of those around me, in constant and critical danger.

People have questioned why a person of only nineteen years of age feels he has the ability to be able to achieve greatness for a nation in turmoil.

People have questioned why I talk about the virtue of democracy whilst coming into power through such undemocratic means.

I can say this much in response: these are the right questions to be asking. These questions are what the foundations of democracy and a free society are built on. The important thing is not to stop questioning.

I am not a born leader. I am not a politician or a great thinker. I’m merely a student. I do the things that students do like make mistakes, eat junk food, watch Buffy, but most importantly of all…learn. My time to lead will come but for now I’m the one asking questions, not the one answering them.

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

